Times are listed both in Eastern (ET) and Pacific (PT) time.
We encourage using each "Break" to stretch/move.

FRIday

May 21, 2021
 

​​3:00-3:15 pm ET / 12:00-12:15 pm PT

What is "Plant-based Normal"?

Part 1 of 2

Robert Breakey, MD DipABLM

3:15-3:20 pm ET:  Q&A

3:20-3:55 pm ET / 12:20-12:55 pm PT

How Sleep, Stress, Physical Activity and Food Insecurity Affect Eating Behaviors, Obesity and Obesity Related Chronic Disease

Amy Richards, PhD RDN LDN

3:55-4:00 pm ET:  Q&A
Amy Richards presents as a member of the Speakers Bureau of the Vegetarian Nutrition Dietetic Practice Group, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

4:00-4:15 pm ET / 1:00-1:15 pm PT

Break

​4:15-5:25 pm ET / 1:15-2:25 pm PT

Round Table (with Q&A):

Racial and Socio-economic Disparities in Health Care and Food Access

Moderator:  Lisa Smith, MBA

Lois Ellen Frank, PhD (Kiowa)

Aurora Leon (Conde), MD

Terry Mason, MD FACS

5:25-6:50 pm ET / 2:25-3:50 pm PT 

Break

​6:50-7:30 pm ET / 3:50-4:30 pm PT

Food or Fasting in Cancers - Part of Effective Treatment Plans, or Irrelevant Considerations?

Michael Klaper, MD

7:30-7:40 pm ET:  Q&A

7:40-7:50 pm ET / 4:40-4:50 pm PT 

Break

​​7:50-8:55 pm ET / 4:50-5:55 pm PT

Round Table and Demonstration (with Q&A):

Cuisine and Nutrition Team Up for Eating Pleasure and Disease Prevention
Chair:  Tammy Robertson, RN BSN

Joaquin Carral (Gomez), MD

Timaree Hagenburger, MPH RDN EP-c

May 2021 Webinar Agenda

sATURday

May 22, 2021

10:40-11:10 am ET / 7:40-8:10 am PT

Touching All Bases for Your Patients with Plant-based Foods and Nutrients

Timaree Hagenburger, MPH RDN EP-c

11:10-11:20 am ET:  Q&A

11:20-11:35 am ET / 8:20-8:35 am PT 

Break

11:35-12:10 pm ET / 8:35-9:10 am PT

The Role of a Whole Food Plant-based Diet in the Prevention and Treatment of Crohn's Disease

SPECIAL CLINICAL CHALLENGES SERIES, PART 1 OF 3

Alan Desmond, MB BCh BMedSC MRCPI FRCP

12:10-12:20 pm ET:  Q&A

12:20-1:45 pm ET / 9:20-10:45 am PT

Break

​1:45-2:00 pm ET / 10:45-11:00 am PT

What is "Plant-based Normal"? 

Part 2 of 2

Robert Breakey, MD DipABLM

2:00-2:05 pm ET:  Q&A

2:05-2:40 pm ET / 11:05-11:40 am PT

Focus Lecture:

Bringing Nutrition and Lifestyle into Medical School Curriculum

Saray Stancic, MD FACLM

2:40-3:30 pm ET / 11:40–12:30 pm PT

Round Table (with Q&A):

Bringing Nutrition and Lifestyle into Medical School Curriculum
Chair:  Saray Stancic, MD FACLM

Saul Bautista, MD

Lakshman Mulpuri, BS

Uma Raman, MD

3:30-3:45 pm ET / 12:30-12:45 pm PT

Break

​3:45-4:25 pm ET / 12:45-1:25 pm PT

DISTINGUISHED CHEFS SERIES

Chef Lois Ellen Frank, PhD (Kiowa)

4:25-4:35 pm ET:  Q&A

4:35-5:05 pm ET / 1:35-2:05 pm PT

Can We Treat Uterine Fibroids with Nutritional Support and a Plant-based Diet?

SPECIAL CLINICAL CHALLENGES SERIES, PART 2 OF 3

Sharan Abdul-Rahman, MD MBA NCMP

5:05-5:10 pm ET:  Q&A

5:10-6:35 pm ET / 2:10-3:35 pm PT

Break

6:35-6:45 pm ET / 3:35-3:45 pm PT

Plant-based Cardiology Can Be Life-Saving
Paul Chatlin

6:45-6:50 pm ET:  Q&A

6:50-7:25 pm ET / 3:50-4:25 pm PT

A Cardiologist's View: Plant-based Nutrition in Clinical Practice

Robert Ostfeld, MD MSc FACC

7:25-7:35 pm ET:  Q&A
 

7:35-7:45 pm ET / 4:35-4:45 pm PT

Break

7:45-8:30 pm ET / 4:45-5:30 pm PT

Round Table (with Q&A):

Interaction of Nutrition and Fitness with Health Empowerment and Self-care for Women

Chair:  Pamela Fergusson, PhD RD

Sharan Abdul-Rahman, MD MBA NCMP

Aurora Leon (Conde), MD

 

SUnday

May 23, 2021

10:40-11:00 am ET / 7:40-8:00 am PT

How Plant-Rich Diets Can Help Save the Planet

Andrea Wotan, MPH RDN

11:00-11:05 am ET:  Q&A


11:05-11:40 am ET / 8:05-8:40 am PT

Interplay among the Gut Microbiome, Diet and Immunity

M. Elizabeth Swenor, DO DipABLM

11:40-11:50 am ET:  Q&A

11:50 am - 1:00 pm ET / 8:50-10:00 am PT 

Break

​1:00-2:35 pm ET / 10:00-11:35 am PT

SPECIAL CLINICAL CHALLENGES SERIES, PART 3 OF 3

CHRONIC KIDNEY DISEASE:  SPECIAL SESSION

1:00-1:35 pm ET / 10:00-10:35 am PT

Plant-based Diet for Preventing or Treating Kidney Disease

Holly Kramer, MD MPH

1:35-2:10 pm ET / 10:35-11:10 am PT

Chronic Kidney Disease:  Proactively Plant-Forward

Annamarie Rodriguez, RDN LD FAND
Annamarie Rodriguez presents as a member of the Speakers Bureau of the Vegetarian Nutrition Dietetic Practice Group, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

2:10-2:35 pm ET / 11:10-11:35 am PT

Q&A with Holly Kramer and Annamarie Rodriguez

2:35-2:45 pm ET / 11:35-11:45 am PT

Break
 

2:45-3:35 pm ET / 11:45 am - 12:35 pm PT

A Conversation (with Q&A):

Pathways toward Transforming Hospital Food

Chair:  Tammy Robertson, RN BSN

Robert Casalou, MHSA MBA

3:35-3:45 pm ET / 12:35-12:45 pm PT 

Break

​3:45-6:30pm ET/12:45-3:30pm PT

P-POD DIABETES SUMMIT:  SPECIAL SESSION


3:45-4:15 pm ET / 12:45-1:15 pm PT

Diabetes Medication Stewardship for Clinicians

Caroline Trapp, DNP ANP-BC CDCES DipACLM FAANP

4:15-4:25 pm ET:  Q&A

4:25-5:00 pm ET / 1:25-2:00 pm PT

Reversal of Diabetes and Hypertension in the Most Vulnerable Populations

Joaquin Carral (Gomez), MD

Aurora Leon (Conde), MD

5:00-5:10 pm ET:  Q&A


5:10-5:20 pm ET / 2:10-2:20 pm PT

Break

5:20-6:30 pm ET / 2:20-3:30 pm PT

Round Table (with Q&A):

The REALLY Long-term Impact of Preventing or Reversing Diabetes

Chair:  Annamarie Rodriguez, RDN LD FAND

Michael Klaper, MD

Caroline Trapp, DNP ANP-BC CDCES DipACLM FAANP

Annamarie Rodriguez presents as a member of the Speakers Bureau of the Vegetarian Nutrition Dietetic Practice Group, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

​​​​​Plant-based Prevention Of Disease, Inc. is a Section 501(c)(3) nonprofit educational organization accepting no
commercial funding or sponsorship.

peapod-132-83.png