Baxter Montgomery

MD FACC

(Keynote speaker along with
John Kelly, MD MPH
Saray Stancic, MD)

Hana Kahleova

MD PhD

(In Distinguished Researchers
Series along with
Stephen J. O'Keefe, MD(UK) MSc MRCS LRCP)

Dean and Ayesha Sherzai

MD PhD  ....  MD

(Special presentation on
dementia
and Alzheimer's disease)

 

You may DOWNLOAD or view below the current complete agenda for the July 2020 P-POD Conference which IS NOW AN ALL-ONLINE EVENT.

The "full" conference will run 2:30 pm Eastern (11:30 am Pacific) Friday to 8:55 pm Eastern (5:55 pm Pacific) Sunday, but there is an additional 2-hour-educational-program option for Friday mid-day that may be viewed here.

You may register and pay for up to 20 educational hours and continuing education credits, but you will have access to up to 24 educational hours to participate in.  Full and Weekend registrants receive access without charge to the 4 Sunday hours now extended at the end.  Pacific time zone registrants could even skip the 4 earliest hours on Saturday and Sunday mornings and still get all the hours they pay for.

FRIday

July 24, 2020
 

FRIDAY OPTIONAL MID-DAY SPECIAL SUMMIT MEETING SESSION, 12:05-2:05 pm Eastern / 9:05-11:05 am Pacific:  “Preventing Heart Disease, Diabetes and Cancer after the Pandemic”

Educational program time excluding breaks:  2:00 (2 hours), additional to the main conference’s 18 credit hours
[This may be registered and attended separately from the main conference.]
 

​​12:05-12:45 pm Eastern / 9:05-9:45 am Pacific

    Kim A.Williams, Sr., MD MACC FASNC FAHA:  Can We Put Cardiologists out of Business in 10 Years?

   12:45-12:50 pm Eastern / 9:45-9:50 am Pacific:  Audience questions for Kim A. Williams, Sr.

12:50-2:05 pm Eastern / 9:50-11:05 am Pacific
    Round Table (with audience questions):  “How We Can All Be Smarter 10 Years from Now in Combating Heart Disease, Diabetes and Cancer”

    Moderator:  Caroline Trapp, DNP ANP-BC CDE FAANP DiplomateACLM
    Hana Kahleova, MD PhD
    Stephen J. O'Keefe, MD(UK) MSc MRCS LRCP
    Kim A.Williams, Sr., MD MACC FASNC FAHA

(2:05-2:30 pm Eastern / 11:05-11:30 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move before start of main conference)

FRIDAY AFTERNOON CONFERENCE-OPENING SESSION, 2:30-5:05 pm Eastern / 11:30 am – 2:05 pm Pacific

Educational program time excluding breaks:  2:20 (2.15 hours plus 5 minutes)

2:30-3:15 pm Eastern / 11:30 am – 12:15 pm Pacific
    PART 1 OF P-POD'S DOUBLE LECTURE SERIES BY DISTINGUISHED RESEARCHERS
    Hana Kahleova, MD PhD:  Diabetes and Beta-cell Regeneration

    3:15-3:25 pm Eastern / 12:15-12:25 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Hana Kahleova

(3:25-3:40 pm Eastern / 12:25-12:40 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

3:40-4:05 pm Eastern / 12:40-1:05 pm Pacific
    The "Why Not Just Eat THAT Diet?" Series Focus Lecture on Ketogenic Diets
    Lee Crosby, RDN LD

4:05-5:05 pm Eastern / 1:05-2:05 pm Pacific
    P-POD "Dietitians' Foodie Series" Round Table (with audience questions):  “Guiding Patients and the Public on Building Healthy, Fitness-Fueling Meals and Snacks”
    Chair:  Parul Kharod, MS RDN LDN
    Lee Crosby, RDN LD
    Pamela Fergusson, PhD RD

(5:05-7:00 pm Eastern / 2:05-4:00 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

FRIDAY EVENING SESSION, 7:00-8:55 pm Eastern / 4:00-5:55 pm Pacific

Educational program time excluding breaks:  1:45 (1.75 hours)

7:00-7:40 pm Eastern / 4:00-4:40 pm Pacific
    Yami Cazorla-Lancaster, DO MPH MS FAAP:  Pediatrics and Whole-food Plant-based Diets

    7:40-7:50 pm Eastern / 4:40-4:50 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Yami Cazorla-Lancaster

(7:50-8:00 pm Eastern / 4:50-5:00 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

8:00-8:45 pm Eastern / 5:00-5:45 pm Pacific
    PART 2 OF P-POD'S DOUBLE LECTURE SERIES BY DISTINGUISHED RESEARCHERS
    Stephen J. O'Keefe, MD(UK) MSc MRCS LRCP:  Interactions between High Fiber Foods and the Colonic Microbiota that Prevent Cancer in Humans

    8:45-8:55 pm Eastern / 5:45-5:55 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Stephen J. O’Keefe

sATURday

July 25, 2020

​SATURDAY MORNING SESSION, 9:30 am – 12:15 pm Eastern / 6:30-9:15 am Pacific
Educational program time excluding breaks:  2:30 (2.5 hours)

9:30-9:50 am Eastern / 6:30-6:50 am Pacific

    Matt Ruscigno, MPH RDN:  The Future of Healthcare Begins with Nutrition


9:50 am -12:15 pm Eastern / 6:50-9:15 am Pacific:  Focus Lecture and Special Clinical Challenges Series,“Chronic Kidney Disease: Root Cause Assessment and Management”
    (1)--9:50-10:15 am Eastern / 6:50-7:15 am Pacific:  Focus Lecture

    Robert Breakey, MD

    (10:15-10:30 am Eastern / 7:15-7:30 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)


    (2)--10:30 am - 12:15 pm Eastern / 7:30-9:15 am Pacific
    Round Table (with audience questions): “Chronic Kidney Disease: Root Cause Assessment and Management”
    Moderator: Robert Breakey, MD
    Paul Berkowitz, MD
    Holly Kramer, MD MPH
    Annamarie Rodriguez, RDN LD FAND
    Marc Ramirez

 

(12:15-1:10 pm Eastern / 9:15-10:10 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)


​SATURDAY AFTERNOON SPECIAL SESSION, 1:10-5:10 pm Eastern / 10:10 am – 2:10 pm Pacific:  “Crash Course in Plant-based Nutrition against Disease”

​Educational program time excluding breaks: 3:40 (3.75 hours minus 5 minutes)

[This may be registered and attended separately from the main conference.]

1:10-1:30 pm Eastern / 10:10-10:30 am Pacific
    Paul Chatlin:  He Chose Not to Have Major Heart Surgery, Instead He Got Healthy and Gave Back to His Community

1:30-2:10 pm Eastern / 10:30-11:10 am Pacific
    P-POD'S 4TH ANNUAL DENIS BURKITT MEMORIAL LECTURE:
    PART 1 OF TRIPLE LECTURE SERIES, “RESETTING THE PARADIGMS OF MEDICAL PRACTICE”
    Baxter Montgomery, MD FACC:  Food as Medicine for Heart Disease

    2:10-2:20 pm Eastern / 11:10-11:20 am Pacific:  Audience questions for Baxter Montgomery.

2:20-3:00 pm Eastern / 11:20 am – 12:00 noon Pacific
    Brenda Davis, RD:  Designing an Optimal Plant-based Diet for Disease Prevention

    3:00-3:10 pm Eastern / 12:00 noon - 12:10 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Brenda Davis

(3:10-3:30 pm Eastern / 12:10-12:30 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

3:30-4:10 pm Eastern / 12:30-1:10 pm Pacific
    Chef Nina Curtis, MBA:  Making Sense Out of Plant-based Prevention Of Disease

    4:10-4:20 pm Eastern / 1:10-1:20 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Chef Nina Curtis.

4:20-5:00 pm Eastern / 1:20-2:00 pm Pacific
    P-POD'S 4TH ANNUAL DENIS BURKITT MEMORIAL LECTURE:
    PART 2 OF TRIPLE LECTURE SERIES, “RESETTING THE PARADIGMS OF MEDICAL PRACTICE”
    Saray Stancic, MD:  Ushering in the Era of Salutogenesis (The Origin of Health)

    5:00-5:10 pm Eastern / 2:00-2:10 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Saray Stancic

(5:10-7:15 pm Eastern / 2:10-4:15 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

SATURDAY EVENING SESSION, 7:15-8:40 pm Eastern / 4:15-5:40 pm Pacific
Educational program time excluding breaks:  1:25 (1.5 hours minus 5 minutes)

7:15-8:30 pm Eastern / 4:15-5:30 pm Pacific

    Special In-Depth Evening Presentation
    Dean Sherzai, MD PhD MPH, Ayesha Sherzai, MD MAS:  Alzheimer’s Advances: Prevention is Possible
    8:30-8:40 pm Eastern / 5:30-5:40 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Dean and Ayesha Sherzai

 
 

SUnday

July 26, 2020

SUNDAY MORNING SESSION, 8:45-11:50 am Eastern / 5:45-8:50 am Pacific
Educational program time excluding breaks:  2:40 (2.75 hours minus 5 minutes)

 

8:45-9:00 am Eastern / 5:45-6:00 am Pacific
    Kathy Pollard, MS:  P-POD and Sustainability


9:00-9:20 am Eastern / 6:00-6:20 am Pacific
    Ted Barnett, MD FACLM:  A Medically Supervised 15-Day Whole-food Plant-based Jumpstart Program
    9:20-9:25 am Eastern / 6:20-6:25 am Pacific:  Audience questions for Ted Barnett

(9:25-9:35 am Eastern / 6:25-6:35 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

9:35-10:35 am Eastern / 6:35-7:35 am Pacific

    Round Table (with audience questions):  “Within a Clinical Practice, Managing Strategies for Chronic Disease Reversal through Lifestyle Measures"

    Moderator: Paul Chatlin

    Mladen Golubic, MD PhD DipABLM

    Joel Kahn, MD FACC


(10:35-10:45 am Eastern / 7:35-7:45 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

10:45-11:45 am Eastern / 7:45-8:45 am Pacific

    Joint Presentation (with audience questions):  "A Nursing Practice Perspective: The Whole-Person Approach to Pain Reduction"

    Caroline Trapp, DNP ANP-BC CDE FAANP DiplomateACLM

    Sheri Orlekoski, RN BS HCSA CRRN

 

(11:45 am – 12:15 pm Eastern / 8:45-9:15 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

 

SUNDAY MID-DAY SPECIAL ROUND TABLE, 12:15 pm – 1:30 pm Eastern / 9:15-10:30 am Pacific

Educational program time excluding breaks:  1:15 (1.25 hours)


12:15-1:30 pm Eastern / 9:15-10:30 am Pacific

    Round Table (with audience questions):  "How Can We Support Those Who Are Hurt by Disparities in Public Policy, in Access to Health Resources or in Access to Nourishing Food?”

    Moderator:  Matt Ruscigno, MPH RDN

    Milton Mills, MD

    Lisa Smith, MBA

(1:30-1:40 pm Eastern / 10:30-10:40 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

SUNDAY AFTERNOON SESSION, 1:40-4:30 pm Eastern / 10:40 am - 1:30 pm Pacific

Educational program time excluding breaks:  2:35 (2.5 hours plus 5 minutes)

1:40-2:20 pm Eastern / 10:40-11:20 am Pacific

    P-POD'S 4TH ANNUAL DENIS BURKITT MEMORIAL LECTURE:

    PART 3 OF TRIPLE LECTURE SERIES, “RESETTING THE PARADIGMS OF MEDICAL PRACTICE”

    John H. Kelly, Jr., MD MPH:  Epigenetics, Lifestyle and the Future of Medicine

    2:20-2:30 pm Eastern / 11:20-11:30 am Pacific:  Audience questions for John H. Kelly, Jr.

(2:30-2:45 pm Eastern / 11:30-11:45 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

 

2:45-3:10 pm Eastern / 11:45 am - 12:10 pm Pacific
    lauren Ornelas, BA:  Focus Lecture on Food Access and Food Justice Issues
 

3:10-4:30 pm Eastern / 12:10-1:30 pm Pacific

    Round Table (with audience questions):  "How Do We Face Post-Pandemic Challenges in Chronic Disease Prevention, Especially for the Most Vulnerable and the Food-Insecure?”

    Moderator:  Bob LeRoy, MS EdM RDN
    Parul Kharod, MS RDN LDN
    Terry Mason, MD FACS
    lauren Ornelas, BA
    Saray Stancic, MD
 

(4:30-4:40 pm Eastern / 1:30-1:40 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

SUNDAY EXTENDED BONUS SESSION, 4:40-8:55 pm Eastern / 1:40-5:55 pm Pacific

Educational program time excluding breaks:  3:50 (3.75 hours plus 5 minutes)


4:40-5:35 pm Eastern / 1:40-2:35 pm Pacific

    Joint Presentation (with audience questions):  Plant-based Diets as Facilitating Greater Quality of Life and Social/Economic Justice, on Individual and Community Levels”

    Terry Mason, MD FACS

    Kathleen Kevany, EdD

(5:35-5:40 pm Eastern / 2:35-2:40 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move briefly)

5:40-6:30 pm Eastern / 2:40-3:30 pm Pacific

    "The Implications of Weight Stigma for Health Practitioners' Professional Ethics"  (1 CPEU in Ethics)

    Taylor Wolfram, MS RDN LDN

    6:30-6:40 pm Eastern / 3:30-3:40 pm Pacific:  Audience questions Taylor Wolfram

    Disclaimer: The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (Academy) and Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) are not responsible for the provider’s interpretation of the Academy/CDR Code of Ethics for the Nutrition and Dietetics Profession or its enforcement as it relates to the scenarios and content presented in this activity.

(6:40-6:50 pm Eastern / 3:40-3:50 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

6:50-7:45 pm Eastern / 3:50-4:45 pm Pacific

    Joint Presentation (with audience questions):  “Food Cravings, Addiction and Mental Health”

    Pamela Fergusson, PhD RD

    Kerrie Saunders, MS LLP PhD

(7:45-7:55 pm Eastern / 4:45-4:55 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

7:55-8:55 pm Eastern / 4:55-5:55 pm Pacific

    Round Table (with audience questions):  “How Food Choices and Preparation Can Serve Both Nutritional and Pleasure Goals”, with 3 Food For Life Instructors

    Chair: Sheri Orlekoski, RN BS HCSA CRRN

    Yami Cazorla-Lancaster, DO MPH MS FAAP

    Marc (Bean) Ramirez

​Plant-based Prevention Of Disease, Inc. is a Section 501(c)(3) nonprofit educational organization accepting no
commercial funding or sponsorship.


For purposes of Continuing Medical Education, this conference is jointly provided by MAHEC and P-POD.  This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the Essential Areas and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education through the joint providership of MAHEC and P-POD. MAHEC is accredited by NCMS to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

© 2019 Plant-based Prevention Of Disease, Inc.

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon