top of page

Baxter Montgomery, MD FACC

Founder and Medical Director, Montgomery Heart and Wellness

Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Texas Health Sciences Center

Attending physician at Memorial Hermann Hospital, The Texas Medical Center

Baxter Montgomery, MD, FACC received his Doctorate in Medicine from The University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, Texas, is board certified in Cardiology and Cardiac Electrophysiology, and is a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology.  He has served as Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center since 1996, and for many years was President of Houston Associates of Cardiovascular Medicine.  He is the founder and Medical Director of Montgomery Heart and Wellness, a cardiology practice and wellness center in Houston that offers a comprehensive approach to help patients progress from conditions of sickness to wellness and eventually optimal health.  He is also an attending physician at Memorial Hermann Hospital of The Texas Medical Center, and its Heart and Vascular Institute, and he serves as Executive Director of the nonprofit organization The Johnsie and Aubary Montgomery Institute of Medical Education and Research.

Dr. Montgomery's primary clinical interest, about which he has written and lectured extensively, is:  nutritional lifestyle interventions for the management of chronic illnesses, including, but not limited to, cardiovascular diseases, hypertension and diabetes.  He has developed, and used for many years, a novel food classification and prescription system that facilitates potential reversal of conditions such as these without medication or surgeries.  This was covered thoroughly in his book The Food Prescription for Better Health, a clinicians' comprehensive guide for reversing chronic illnesses.  He was a long-time member of the Advisory Board for Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine, and was named as one of America's Top Physicians in 2007, and received the Benjamin Spock Award for Compassion in Medicine in 2010.

bottom of page