MontgomeryB-368-368-compress.png

Baxter Montgomery

MD FACC

(Keynote speaker along with
John Kelly, MD MPH
Saray Stancic, MD)

KahleovaHana-368-368-compress.png

Hana Kahleova

MD PhD

(In Distinguished Researchers
Series along with
Stephen J. O'Keefe, MD(UK) MSc MRCS LRCP)

Sherzai-Dean-Ayesha-368-368-compress.png

Dean and Ayesha Sherzai

MD PhD  ....  MD

(Special presentation on
dementia
and Alzheimer's disease)

 

You may DOWNLOAD the current complete agenda for the July 2020 P-POD Conference which IS NOW AN ALL-ONLINE EVENT.  PLEASE NOTE that there is NO CHANGE in the timing or content of the educational sessions shown there.  However, you should DISREGARD the information about meals and on-site fitness activities because the conference will now be transmitted virtually. 

The "full" conference will run 2:30 pm Fri. to 4:30 pm Sun. (Eastern time), but there is an additional 2-hour educational-program option for Fri. mid-day that may be viewed here.

PLEASE DISREGARD the VIEWABLE agenda below because IT HAS NOT YET BEEN UPDATED FOR JULY 2020. 

FRIday

July 24, 2020
 

FRIDAY OPTIONAL MID-DAY SPECIAL SUMMIT MEETING SESSION, 12:05-2:05 pm Eastern / 9:05-11:05 am Pacific:  “Preventing Heart Disease, Diabetes and Cancer after the Pandemic”

Educational program time excluding breaks:  2:00 (2 hours), additional to the main conference’s 18 credit hours
[This may be registered and attended separately from the main conference.]
 

​​12:05-12:45 pm Eastern / 9:05-9:45 am Pacific

    Kim A.Williams, Sr., MD MACC FASNC FAHA:  Can We Put Cardiologists out of Business in 10 Years?

   12:45-12:50 pm Eastern / 9:45-9:50 am Pacific:  Audience questions for Kim A. Williams, Sr.

12:50-2:05 pm Eastern / 9:50-11:05 am Pacific
    Round Table (with audience questions):  “How We Can All Be Smarter 10 Years from Now in Combating Heart Disease, Diabetes and Cancer”

    Moderator:  Caroline Trapp, DNP ANP-BC CDE FAANP DiplomateACLM
    Hana Kahleova, MD PhD
    Stephen J. O'Keefe, MD(UK) MSc MRCS LRCP
    Kim A.Williams, Sr., MD MACC FASNC FAHA

(2:05-2:30 pm Eastern / 11:05-11:30 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move before start of main conference)

FRIDAY AFTERNOON CONFERENCE-OPENING SESSION, 2:30-5:05 pm Eastern / 11:30 am – 2:05 pm Pacific

Educational program time excluding breaks:  2:20 (2.15 hours plus 5 minutes)

2:30-3:15 pm Eastern / 11:30 am – 12:15 pm Pacific
    PART 1 OF P-POD'S DOUBLE LECTURE SERIES BY DISTINGUISHED RESEARCHERS
    Hana Kahleova, MD PhD:  Diabetes and Beta-cell Regeneration

    3:15-3:25 pm Eastern / 12:15-12:25 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Hana Kahleova

(3:25-3:40 pm Eastern / 12:25-12:40 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

3:40-4:05 pm Eastern / 12:40-1:05 pm Pacific
    The "Why Not Just Eat THAT Diet?" Series Focus Lecture on Ketogenic Diets
    Lee Crosby, RDN LD

4:05-5:05 pm Eastern / 1:05-2:05 pm Pacific
    P-POD "Dietitians' Foodie Series" Round Table (with audience questions):  “Guiding Patients and the Public on Building Healthy, Fitness-Fueling Meals and Snacks”
    Chair:  Parul Kharod, MS RDN LDN
    Lee Crosby, RDN LD
    Pamela Fergusson, PhD RD

(5:05-7:00 pm Eastern / 2:05-4:00 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

FRIDAY EVENING SESSION, 7:00-8:55 pm Eastern / 4:00-5:55 pm Pacific

Educational program time excluding breaks:  1:45 (1.75 hours)

7:00-7:40 pm Eastern / 4:00-4:40 pm Pacific
    Yami Cazorla-Lancaster, DO MPH MS FAAP:  Pediatrics and Whole-food Plant-based Diets

    7:40-7:50 pm Eastern / 4:40-4:50 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Yami Cazorla-Lancaster

(7:50-8:00 pm Eastern / 4:50-5:00 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

8:00-8:45 pm Eastern / 5:00-5:45 pm Pacific
    PART 2 OF P-POD'S DOUBLE LECTURE SERIES BY DISTINGUISHED RESEARCHERS
    Stephen J. O'Keefe, MD(UK) MSc MRCS LRCP:  Interactions between High Fiber Foods and the Colonic Microbiota that Prevent Cancer in Humans

    8:45-8:55 pm Eastern / 5:45-5:55 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Stephen J. O’Keefe

sATURday

July 25, 2020

​SATURDAY MORNING SESSION, 9:30 am – 12:15 pm Eastern / 6:30-9:15 am Pacific
Educational program time excluding breaks:  2:30 (2.5 hours)

9:30-9:50 am Eastern / 6:30-6:50 am Pacific

    Matt Ruscigno, MPH RDN:  The Future of Healthcare Begins with Nutrition


9:50 am -12:15 pm Eastern / 6:50-9:15 am Pacific:  Focus Lecture and Special Clinical Challenges Series,“Chronic Kidney Disease: Root Cause Assessment and Management”
    (1)--9:50-10:15 am Eastern / 6:50-7:15 am Pacific:  Focus Lecture

    Robert Breakey, MD

    (10:15-10:30 am Eastern / 7:15-7:30 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)


    (2)--10:30 am - 12:15 pm Eastern / 7:30-9:15 am Pacific
    Round Table (with audience questions): “Chronic Kidney Disease: Root Cause Assessment and Management”
    Moderator: Robert Breakey, MD
    Paul Berkowitz, MD
    Holly Kramer, MD MPH
    Annamarie Rodriguez, RDN LD FAND
    Marc Ramirez

 

(12:15-1:10 pm Eastern / 9:15-10:10 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)


​SATURDAY AFTERNOON SPECIAL SESSION, 1:10-5:10 pm Eastern / 10:10 am – 2:10 pm Pacific:  “Crash Course in Plant-based Nutrition against Disease”

​Educational program time excluding breaks: 3:40 (3.75 hours minus 5 minutes)

[This may be registered and attended separately from the main conference.]

1:10-1:20 pm Eastern / 10:10-10:20 am Pacific

    Bill Manns, MHSA:  The Role and Perspective of the Local Healthcare Community

1:20-1:40 pm Eastern / 10:20-10:40 am Pacific
    Paul Chatlin:  He Chose Not to Have Major Heart Surgery, Instead He Got Healthy and Gave Back to His Community

1:40-2:20 pm Eastern / 10:40-11:20 am Pacific
    P-POD'S 4TH ANNUAL DENIS BURKITT MEMORIAL LECTURE:
    PART 1 OF TRIPLE LECTURE SERIES, “RESETTING THE PARADIGMS OF MEDICAL PRACTICE”
    Baxter Montgomery, MD FACC:  Food as Medicine for Heart Disease

    2:20-2:30 pm Eastern / 11:20-11:30 am Pacific:  Audience questions for Baxter Montgomery.

2:30-3:10 pm Eastern / 11:30 am – 12:10 pm Pacific
    Brenda Davis, RD:  Designing an Optimal Plant-based Diet for Disease Prevention

    3:10-3:20 pm Eastern / 12:10-12:20 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Brenda Davis

(3:20-3:40 pm Eastern / 12:20-12:40 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

3:40-4:15 pm Eastern / 12:40-1:15 pm Pacific
    Chef Nina Curtis, MBA:  Making Sense Out of Plant-based Prevention Of Disease

    4:15-4:25 pm Eastern / 1:15-1:25 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Chef Nina Curtis.

4:25-5:00 pm Eastern / 1:25-2:00 pm Pacific
    P-POD'S 4TH ANNUAL DENIS BURKITT MEMORIAL LECTURE:
    PART 2 OF TRIPLE LECTURE SERIES, “RESETTING THE PARADIGMS OF MEDICAL PRACTICE”
    Saray Stancic, MD:  Ushering in the Era of Salutogenesis (The Origin of Health)

    5:00-5:10 pm Eastern / 2:00-2:10 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Saray Stancic

(5:10-7:15 pm Eastern / 2:10-4:15 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

SATURDAY EVENING SESSION, 7:15-8:40 pm Eastern / 4:15-5:40 pm Pacific
Educational program time excluding breaks:  1:25 (1.5 hours minus 5 minutes)

7:15-8:30 pm Eastern / 4:15-5:30 pm Pacific

    Special In-Depth Evening Presentation
    Dean Sherzai, MD PhD MPH, Ayesha Sherzai, MD MAS:  Alzheimer’s Advances: Prevention is Possible
    8:30-8:40 pm Eastern / 5:30-5:40 pm Pacific:  Audience questions for Dean and Ayesha Sherzai

 

SUnday

July 26, 2020

SUNDAY MORNING SESSION, 8:45-11:50 am Eastern / 5:45-8:50 am Pacific
Educational program time excluding breaks:  2:40 (2.75 hours minus 5 minutes)

 

8:45-9:00 am Eastern / 5:45-6:00 am Pacific
    Kathy Pollard, MS:  P-POD and Sustainability


9:00-9:20 am Eastern / 6:00-6:20 am Pacific
    Ted Barnett, MD FACLM:  A Medically Supervised 15-Day Whole-food Plant-based Jumpstart Program
    9:20-9:25 am Eastern / 6:20-6:25 am Pacific:  Audience questions for Ted Barnett

(9:25-9:35 am Eastern / 6:25-6:35 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

9:35-10:35 am Eastern / 6:35-7:35 am Pacific

    Round Table (with audience questions):  “Within a Clinical Practice, Managing Strategies for Chronic Disease Reversal through Lifestyle Measures"

    Moderator: Paul Chatlin

    Mladen Golubic, MD PhD

    Joel Kahn, MD FACC


(10:35-10:45 am Eastern / 7:35-7:45 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

10:45-11:45 am Eastern / 7:45-8:45 am Pacific

    Joint Presentation (with audience questions):  "A Nursing Practice Perspective: The Whole-Person Approach to Pain Reduction"

    Caroline Trapp, DNP ANP-BC CDE FAANP DiplomateACLM

    Sheri Orlekoski, RN BS HCSA CRRN

 

(11:45 am – 12:15 pm Eastern / 8:45-9:15 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

 

SUNDAY MID-DAY SPECIAL ROUND TABLE, 12:15 pm – 1:30 pm / 9:15-10:30 am

Educational program time excluding breaks:  1:15 (1.25 hours)


12:15-1:30 pm Eastern / 9:15-10:30 am Pacific

    Round Table (with audience questions):  "How Can We Support Those Who Are Hurt by Disparities in Public Policy, in Access to Health Resources or in Access to Nourishing Food?”

    Moderator:  Matt Ruscigno, MPH RDN

    Milton Mills, MD

    Lisa Smith, MBA CPT

(1:30-1:40 pm Eastern / 10:30-10:40 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

SUNDAY AFTERNOON SESSION, 1:40-4:30 pm Eastern / 10:40 am - 1:30 pm Pacific

Educational program time excluding breaks:  2:35 (2.5 hours plus 5 minutes)

1:40-2:20 pm Eastern / 10:40-11:20 am Pacific

    P-POD'S 4TH ANNUAL DENIS BURKITT MEMORIAL LECTURE:

    PART 3 OF TRIPLE LECTURE SERIES, “RESETTING THE PARADIGMS OF MEDICAL PRACTICE”

    John H. Kelly, Jr., MD MPH:  Epigenetics, Lifestyle and the Future of Medicine

    2:20-2:30 pm Eastern / 11:20-11:30 am Pacific:  Audience questions for John H. Kelly, Jr.

(2:30-2:45 pm Eastern / 11:30-11:45 am Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

 

2:45-3:10 pm Eastern / 11:45 am - 12:10 pm Pacific
    lauren Ornelas, BA:  Focus Lecture on Food Access and Food Justice Issues
 

3:10-4:30 pm Eastern / 12:10-1:30 pm Pacific

    Round Table (with audience questions):  "How Do We Face Post-Pandemic Challenges in Chronic Disease Prevention, Especially for the Most Vulnerable and the Food-Insecure?”

    Moderator:  Bob LeRoy, MS EdM RDN
    Terry Mason, MD FACS
    lauren Ornelas, BA
    Saray Stancic, MD
    POSSIBLY WITH ONE ADDITIONAL PANEL MEMBER

(4:30-4:40 pm Eastern / 1:30-1:40 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

 

SUNDAY EXTENDED BONUS SESSION, 4:40-8:55 pm Eastern / 1:40-5:55 pm Pacific

Educational program time excluding breaks:  3:50 (3.75 hours plus 5 minutes)


4:40-5:35 pm Eastern / 1:40-2:35 pm Pacific

    Joint Presentation (with audience questions):  Plant-based Diets as Facilitating Greater Quality of Life and Social/Economic Justice, on Individual and Community Levels”

    Terry Mason, MD FACS

    Kathleen Kevany, EdD

(5:35-5:40 pm Eastern / 2:35-2:40 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move briefly)

5:40-6:30 pm Eastern / 2:40-3:30 pm Pacific

    "The Implications of Weight Stigma for Health Practitioners' Professional Ethics"  (1 CPEU in Ethics)

    Taylor Wolfram, MS RDN LDN

    6:30-6:40 pm Eastern / 3:30-3:40 pm Pacific:  Audience questions Taylor Wolfram

    Disclaimer: The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (Academy) and Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) are not responsible for the provider’s interpretation of the Academy/CDR Code of Ethics for the Nutrition and Dietetics Profession or its enforcement as it relates to the scenarios and content presented in this activity.

(6:40-6:50 pm Eastern / 3:40-3:50 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

6:50-7:45 pm Eastern / 3:50-4:45 pm Pacific

    Joint Presentation (with audience questions):  “Food Cravings, Addiction and Mental Health”

    Pamela Fergusson, PhD RD

    Kerrie Saunders, MS LLP PhD

(7:45-7:55 pm Eastern / 4:45-4:55 pm Pacific:  Break, stretch, move)

7:55-8:55 pm Eastern / 4:55-5:55 pm Pacific

    Round Table (with audience questions):  “How Food Choices and Preparation Can Serve Both Nutritional and Pleasure Goals”, with 3 Food For Life Instructors

    Chair: Sheri Orlekoski, RN BS HCSA CRRN

    Yami Cazorla-Lancaster, DO MPH MS FAAP

    Marc (Bean) Ramirez

​Plant-based Prevention Of Disease, Inc. is a Section 501(c)(3) nonprofit educational organization accepting no
commercial funding or sponsorship.


For purposes of Continuing Medical Education, this conference is jointly provided by MAHEC and P-POD.  This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the Essential Areas and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education through the joint providership of MAHEC and P-POD. MAHEC is accredited by NCMS to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

peapod-132-83.png