P-POD Lifestyle Med. 10+
October 23-24, 2021 Virtual Conference

Full Agenda, Updated October 2nd

Times are listed both in Eastern (ET) and Pacific (PT) time.  We encourage using each break to stretch/move.

SATURDAY

October 23, 2021
 

​​12:45-1:25 pm ET / 9:45-10:25 am PT

Breast Cancer:  An Innovative Integrative Approach

Amber Orman, MD DipABLM

1:25-1:35 pm ET / 10:25-10:35 am PT:  Q&A

1:35-1:40 pm ET / 10:35-10:40 am PT

Break


1:40-2:20 pm ET / 10:40-11:20 am PT

P-POD DISTINGUISHED CHEFS SERIES

Connecting the Dots - Traditional Foods and Their Ability to Heal

Chef Cynthia Chea Péan, MA

2:20-2:30 pm ET / 11:20-11:30 am PT:  Q&A

2:30-2:35 pm ET / 11:30-11:35 am PT

Break

2:35-3:10 pm ET / 11:35 am – 12:10 pm PT

A Plant-based Eating Pattern for the Prevention and Treatment of Type 2 Diabetes
Meghan Jardine, MS MBA RDN LD CDCES
Meghan Jardine presents as a member of the Speakers Bureau of the Vegetarian Nutrition Dietetic Practice Group, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
3:10-3:20 pm ET / 12:10-12:20 pm PT:  Q&A
 

3:20-3:30 pm ET / 12:20-12:30 pm PT

Break
 

​3:30-4:20 pm ET / 12:30-1:20 pm PT

Round Table (with Q&A):
What Can the Six Pillars of Lifestyle Medicine Do for Patients Threatened by Major Chronic Diseases?
Chair:  Amber Orman, MD DipABLM
Baxter Montgomery, MD FACC

Saray Stancic, MD FACLM DipABLM
 

4:20-4:25 pm ET / 1:20-1:25 pm PT

Break
 

4:25-5:00 pm ET / 1:25-2:00 pm PT

Shared Medical Appointments:  an Optimal Way to Deliver Comprehensive Lifestyle Interventions

Mladen Golubic, MD PhD FACLM DipABLM

5:00-5:10 pm ET / 2:00-2:10 pm PT:  Q&A

5:10-6:10 pm ET / 2:10-3:10 pm PT

Break

6:10-6:50 pm ET / 3:10-3:50 pm PT

Nutrition-based Chronic Disease Interventions, Beyond the Script

Baxter Montgomery, MD FACC

6:50-7:00 pm ET / 3:50-4:00 pm PT:  Q&A


7:00-7:10 pm ET / 4:00-4:10 pm PT

Break


7:10-7:45 pm ET / 4:10-4:45 pm PT

The Power of Social Connection

Beth Frates, MD FACLM DipABLM

7:45-7:55 pm ET / 4:45-4:55 pm PT:  Q&A

7:55-8:00 pm ET / 4:55-5:00 pm PT

Break
 

8:00-8:50 pm ET / 5:00-5:50 pm PT

A Conversation (with Q&A):
Physical Activity and Body-nurturing Behaviors:  Making Them a Joy, Not a Chore

Chair:  Kayli Anderson, MS RDN ACSM-EP DipACLM

Beth Frates, MD FACLM DipABLM

SUNDAY

October 24, 2021

10:15-10:55 am ET / 7:15-7:55 am PT

Caring for the Other Half of Humans:  The Microbiome and Its Relationship with Nutrition

Leigh Frame, PhD MHS

10:55-11:05 am ET / 7:55-8:05 am PT:  Q&A

11:05-11:10 am ET / 8:05-8:10 am PT

Break

11:10-11:50 am ET / 8:10-8:50 am PT

Lifestyle Medicine: An Attractive Value-based Care Model of Interest to Large Employers

Dexter Shurney, MD MBA MPH FACLM DipABLM

11:50 am - 12 noon ET / 8:50-9:00 am PT:  Q&A


12 noon -12:05 pm ET / 9:00-9:05 am PT

Break

12:05–12:45 pm ET / 9:05-9:45 am PT

Plant-based Nutrition and Lifestyle Medicine:  Special Considerations For Women

Kayli Anderson, MS RDN ACSM-EP DipACLM

12:45-12:55 pm ET / 9:45-9:55 am PT:  Q&A

12:55-1:55 pm ET / 9:55-10:55 am PT

Break

1:55-2:55 pm ET / 10:55-11:55 am PT

Round Table (with Q&A):

The Future of Healthcare Begins with Nutrition, but Tell Us More about That Future

Chair:  Saray Stancic, MD FACLM DipABLM

Leigh Frame, PhD MHS

Dexter Shurney, MD MBA MPH FACLM DipABLM


2:55-3:00 pm ET / 11:55 am – 12:00 noon PT

Break
 

3:00-3:35 pm ET / 12:00 noon – 12:35 pm PT

’A-SMART’:  Lifestyle Behaviors' Relationship to Wellbeing and Immunity

Loureen Downes, PhD APRN FNP-BC DipACLM FAANP

3:35-3:45 pm ET / 12:35-12:45 pm PT:  Q&A

3:45-3:50 pm ET / 12:45-12:50 pm PT

Break

3:50-4:25 pm ET / 12:50-1:25 pm PT

The 15-Day Whole Food Plant-based Jumpstart:  2021 Insights Applicable to Your Patients and Practice

Ted Barnett, MD FACLM DipABLM
4:25-4:35 pm ET / 1:25-1:35 pm PT:  Q&A

4:35-4:45 pm ET / 1:35-1:45 pm PT

Break

4:45-5:35 pm ET / 1:45-2:35 pm PT

A Conversation (with Q&A):

Race-based and Socio-economic-based Disparities in Health Care and Nutritious-food Access

Loureen Downes, PhD APRN FNP-BC DipACLM FAANP

Koushik Reddy, MD FACC FACLM DipABLM

5:35-5:40 pm ET / 2:35-2:40 pm PT

Break

5:40-6:20 pm ET / 2:40-3:20 pm PT

Cardiovascular Prevention:  I Have a Carrot and a Stent, You Pick

Koushik Reddy, MD FACC FACLM DipABLM

6:20-6:30 pm ET / 3:20-3:30 pm PT:  Q&A

6:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm PT

Conference closing. 

 
peapod-132-83.png