June 2021 Webinar Agenda

Times are listed both in Eastern (ET) and Pacific (PT) time.
We encourage using each "Break" to stretch/move.

FRIday

June 25, 2021
 

​​3:00-3:30 pm ET / 12:00 - 12:30 pm PT

Nutrition and Nutrient Review, and Planning Guide – Plant-based or Vegan Diets

Tim Radak, DrPH MPH RDN

3:30-3:40 pm ET: Q&A

3:40-4:45 pm ET / 12:40-1:45 pm PT

Round Table and Demonstration (with Q&A):

Cuisine and Nutrition Team Up for Eating Pleasure and Disease Prevention

Chair:  Vince Rountree, MBA NBC-HWC ChemE

Deitra Dennis, RN NBC-HWC

Katya Galbis, LD DipACLM

4:45-4:55 pm ET / 1:45-1:55 pm PT

Break

4:55-5:20 pm ET/ 1:55-2:20 pm PT

Guiding Patients’ Long-term Success, One Plate at a Time

Lily Correa, MPH RDN DipACLM

5:20-5:25 pm ET:  Q&A

5:25-6:55 pm ET / 2:25-3:55 pm PT 

Break

6:55-7:40 pm ET / 3:55-4:40 pm PT

Nutrition and the Gut Microbiome:  How Your Bugs and Diet Interact

DISTINGUISHED RESEARCHERS SERIES, 

PART 1 OF 2

Leigh Frame, PhD MHS

7:40-7:50 pm ET:  Q&A

7:50-8:00 pm ET / 4:50-5:00 pm PT

Break
 

8:00-8:45 pm ET / 5:00-5:45 pm PT

How 2020 Revealed America's Dirty Little Secret

5th ANNUAL DENIS BURKITT MEMORIAL

LECTURE SERIES, 1 OF 2

Columbus Batiste, MD FACC FSCAI

8:45-8:55 pm ET:  Q&A

sATURday

June 26, 2021

10:40-10:50 am ET / 7:40-7:50 am PT

Healthy at Last - A Public Servant's Diabetes Reversal in Public View

Eric Adams, MPA

10:50-11:00 am ET:  Q&A


11:00-11:40 am ET / 8:00-8:40 am PT

Nutrition and Cardiovascular Mortality

Kim A. Williams, Sr., MD MACC FASNC FAHA

11:40-11:50 am ET:  Q&A

11:50 - 12:15 pm ET / 8:50-9:15 am PT

Pediatric Evidence of Dietary Effects on Growth Rates, Bone Health and Common Illnesses

PEDIATRICS FORUM, PART 1 OF 3

Laura Pridemore, MD JD FAAP

12:15-12:20 pm ET:  Q&A

12:20-1:50 pm ET / 9:20-10:50 am PT

Break

1:50-2:15 pm ET / 10:50-11:15 am PT

Growing Healthy Children Optimally with Plant Power: The Role of Whole Food Plant-based Nutrition

PEDIATRICS FORUM, PART 2 OF 3

Qadira Huff, MD MPH FAAP DipABLM

2:15-2:20 pm ET:  Q&A

2:20-3:05 pm ET / 11:20–12:05 pm PT

Round Table (with Q&A):

Importance of Nutrition in Childhood and Adolescence

PEDIATRICS FORUM, PART 3 OF 3

Chair: Vanita Rahman, MD CNS CCS

Qadira Huff, MD MPH FAAP DipABLM

Laura Pridemore, MD JD FAAP

3:05-3:25 pm ET / 12:05-12:25 pm PT

Break

3:25-4:05 pm ET / 12:25-1:05 pm PT

Plant-based Diets in 2021:  The Data Keep Pouring In

Andrew Freeman, MD FACC FACP

4:05-4:15 pm ET:  Q&A 

4:15-5:15 pm ET / 1:15-2:15 pm PT

Round Table (with Q&A):

What Blocks the Benefits of Plant-based Whole Foods?  Not Affordable?  Poor Access?  Seen as Bland/Boring?

Chair:  Renae Thomas, MD

Lily Correa, MPH RDN DipACLM

Dawn Hilton-Williams, BA

5:15-6:45 pm ET / 2:15-3:45 pm PT:  Break

6:45-7:20 pm ET / 3:45-4:20 pm PT

Unique Challenges of A Plant-based Nephrologist

Mary Washington, MD FACP

7:20-7:30 pm ET:  Q&A

 

7:30-7:40 pm ET / 4:30-4:40 pm PT:  Break

7:40-8:20 pm ET / 4:40-5:20 pm PT

Breast Cancer:  A Survivorship Plan Beyond the Mammogram

5th ANNUAL DENIS BURKITT MEMORIAL

LECTURE SERIES, 2 OF 2

Amber Orman, MD DipABLM
8:20-8:30 pm ET:  Q&A

 

SUnday

June 27, 2021

10:40-11:05 am ET / 7:40-8:05 am PT

Rethinking Sustainability through Food and Social Justice

Sherene Chou, MS RDN

11:05-11:10 am ET:  Q&A
Sherene Chou presents as a member of the Speakers Bureau of the Vegetarian Nutrition Dietetic Practice Group, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.


11:10-12:15 pm ET / 8:10-9:15 am PT

Round Table (with Q&A):

Race-based and Socio-economic-based Disparities in Health Care and Nutritious-food Access
Chair:  Judy Brangman, MD DipABLM

Columbus Batiste, MD FACC FSCAI

Sherene Chou, MS RDN
Sherene Chou presents as a member of the Speakers Bureau of the Vegetarian Nutrition Dietetic Practice Group, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

12:15-1:20 pm ET / 9:15-10:20 am PT

Break


1:20-3:00 pm ET / 10:20-12:00 pm PT

P-POD ANNUAL CLINICIANS' ROUND TABLE:  SPECIAL SESSION


1:20-1:50 pm ET / 10:20-10:50 am PT

(Focus Lecture) Creating Lasting Behavior Change:  How to Speak with Our Patients about Diet and Lifestyle

Jasmol Sardana, DO FACLM DipABLM

1:50-1:55 am ET:  Q&A


1:55-3:00 pm ET / 10:55 am - 12:00 noon PT

CLINICIANS’ ROUND TABLE (with Q&A):

Community Clinician Efforts to Change Lifestyles and Combat Diabetes and Heart Disease

Chair:  Vanita Rahman, MD CNS CCS

Judy Brangman, MD DipABLM

Lily Correa, MPH RDN DipACLM

Jasmol Sardana, DO FACLM DipABLM

 

3:00:3:10 pm ET / 12:00-12:10 pm PT 

Break

 

3:10-3:40 pm ET / 12:10 - 12:40 pm PT

Nutrition and Cancer:  Evidence for Primary Prevention, Treatment Optimization and Sustained Remission

Renae Thomas, MD

3:40-3:45 pm ET:  Q&A
 

3:45-4:20 pm ET / 12:45-1:20 pm PT

Past, Present, and Future:  Two Decades of Plant-based Diet Research

DISTINGUISHED RESEARCHERS SERIES, 

PART 2 OF 2

Gabrielle (Brie) Turner-McGrievy, PhD MS RDN FTOS

4:20-4:30 pm ET:  Q&A

4:30-4:40 pm ET / 1:30-1:40 pm PT

Break
 

4:40-5:40 pm ET / 1:40-2:40 pm PT

Round Table (with Q&A):

Lessons Learned from the Two-Year Nutritious Eating with Soul Study: Strategies for Improving the Adoption of Plant-based Diets among Diverse Populations

Chair:  Gabrielle (Brie) Turner-McGrievy, PhD MS RDN FTOS

Mary Wilson, MPH, Project Manager

Marty Davey, MS RDN LDN


5:40-6:20 pm ET / 2:40-3:20 pm PT

DISTINGUISHED CHEFS SERIES

Chef Nina Curtis, MBA
6:20-6:30 pm ET:  Q&A


Plant-based Prevention Of Disease, Inc. is a Section 501(c)(3) nonprofit educational organization accepting no
commercial funding or sponsorship.

peapod-132-83.png